Posted by: A Part of the Solution | April 7, 2011

A Candid(iasis) Discussion

You may remember my post, A Lenten Season, in which I explain how I decided to put myself on a rather restrictive diet to see if it would help me bring my general health and constitution back up to something resembling ‘par’. No gluten bearing grains, no grains at all, no legumes, no dairy, no soy, no corn, nothing fermented, no sugar, no starchy vegetables, no fruit, no mushrooms, no seeds, limited organic coffee; it’s not a short list. But then, my chronic concerns were on a list which seemed to grow longer instead of shorter. I’ve been on this anti-candidiasis diet for three weeks now.
Folks tell me this regimen resembles the famous Atkins diet. I’ve spent most of my life eating on the other end of the food spectrum: whole grains and legumes over meat. But now, I’m down to veggies, nuts (well, not cashews, pistachios or peanuts–but I can have the others), and meat.

I’ve tracked my nutritional intake over at Prevention. They’re a department of the Rodale Institute, and have a great health tracking system: you tell your file what you’ve eaten and it tells you how many calories you’ve had, what the fat/protein/carb/fiber balance is, and the full nutritional value therein. This is useful for me, since I literally can’t eat much more than 1800 calories of what I’m allowed; most days it’s more like 1400-1500.

If I had to summarize my experience with this process, I’d have to say the diet is full of rich foods paired with utterly wholesome foods. I hork down eight ounces of steak and five or six cups of mixed salad: red cabbage, bell pepper, romaine, celery, jalapeño, parsley and homemade mayo (the only vinegar allowed on this diet, by name, is Bragg’s Organic Unfiltered Unpasteurized Apple Cider Vinegar. My salad dressings and mayo are prepared fresh now) at dinner. Breakfast is an omelet of two eggs with lots of leftover veggies and some nicely wilted leeks from the garden. I’m religious about scoring full fiber values (25 grams) on 75% of the calorie load to which they’re calibrated.; Both my parents have had serious colon concerns, and I’m doing what I can early to ameliorate the tendency in my body to create such issues.

Watching my daily values for essential vitamins, vitamin precursors and minerals has been good for my awareness of what I’m getting out of what I’m eating. I’m supplementing with calcium and iron, since those regularly show up falling short of my targets. I’m getting all of my vitamin D from being outside. Happily, I’m outside for several hours each day–so I’m not deficient there. I still need to put more copper into my body. I’m going to score one of those copper bracelets from the Superstitious Folk Remedies section of the local pharmacy; in less than a month I should be sporting all the copper I can use.

But is it working, this Candidiasis Elimination Diet? Yes, I would have to say it is. My sinus is the clearest it has been in decades (yes, decades). I’m sleeping better, thinking more clearly and have more energy to do what needs to be done. My achy joints ache less, and I all around just feel better than I have in the longest time. And some of my excess weight is falling away–ten pounds in three weeks without that being my objective.

However, don’t go waving a milkshake, plate of fries, or a brownie under my nose. I can’t answer for my actions with serious temptation in play.

Responses

  1. I’ll tell you, as often as I’ve tracked down my blood-type, I instantly forget it the second I’ve heard it. It’s like how many feet are in a mile– a number that slips from my mind like a greasy fried egg sliding off a plate. I have a happy nettipot on my bathroom counter, but I’m hoping I’ll need it less if this drastic regimen takes proper hold in my corpus. Woo-to-the very-Potential-Hoo! XOXOXO

  2. There’s 5280 feet in a mile.

    • Yeah, yeah. But do you know my blood type? Now that would be really useful. I can look up the how-many-feet-in-a-mile thing anywhere, pretty much.

  3. Great job, Carrie, sounds tough though. I’m proud of you.

    • Thanks, bro. It’s tough all right. But I’m feeling so much better. If only I could remember my blood type!


Leave a Reply

Categories

