Posted by: A Part of the Solution | November 21, 2010

What I’m Thankful For

This has been a big year for us. Not that we’ve been here a whole year, but still. Before I become inundated with food prep schedules, dusting duties and the roar of the vacuum cleaner, I want to remember to spend some time being thankful.

First off, I’m thankful for the unwavering support, encouragement and information provided to us unstintingly from family members on both sides of our business equation.

I’m thankful I found this beautiful, unspoiled place to call home. I’m thankful the people from whom we bought our farm were patient as I went through the complexity of getting it financed (Hi Trica and Bill!). I’m thankful our investment hasn’t turned out to be a pig in a poke–even with a fairly cursory inspection, we haven’t been slammed with anything beyond the realm of comprehensible and doable.

I’m thankful for the enterprising and understanding support of the persons comprising our first year’s CSA subscribers. This includes our staunch, caring members at DC Central Kitchen and Martha’s Table–to which combined we were able to send over 1100 pounds of vegetables this past season! I’m also thankful for our loyal commercial chefs, especially Anna Saint John who led the charge and Jason Stockman who put his company’s money where his mouth was.

I’m thankful I’m not so encumbered with wisdom that I can’t continue to learn and be surprised by all I don’t know as I go about the chores and projects which make up the farming life. I’m thankful for the wide array of persons who have, wittingly or unwittingly, been crucial resources for us as we learn our new craft–most especially our neighbors on both sides, who have generously shared their understanding of the land, the climate and the wildlife surrounding us.

I almost hate to say this, but I’m very, very thankful for the interweb. Without this modern tool, I don’t know how much more difficult our choice to come here might have been. And I shudder to contemplate the isolation that could have been ours in less technologically forward times. With the interweb, I am able to stay in contact with cronies, customers, family, business contacts, suppliers and all the information necessary to get from one end of the day to the other.

I am further thankful for my enhanced relationship with the land on which I live, the food I eat and the animals which make up a fair proportion of my day and my diet. I am thankful I’m not too old to get up close and personal with the lifestyle I know to be responsible and demanding and rewarding on every level.

In a word: THANKS!

Responses

  1. Beautifully, said, my love. And you’re welcome.

  2. Mine was not, however. I got attacked by an errant comma monster.

    • That’s so cute.


Leave a Reply

Categories

