Posted by: A Part of the Solution | October 20, 2010

Sausage Seasonings So Far

When we sent Bobby off to be processed, I asked for one of his shoulders to be ground up with his heart. This request yielded about forty pounds of loose, unseasoned sausage meat–broken out into eight bags of more or less five pounds apiece. These represent my stock for experimenting with seasoning blends to create different kinds of sausage.

I researched sausage making on the internet to see what I could see about who’s doing what, and whether it was something I wanted to try. There are all kinds of recipes available all over the ‘net. I wanted seasoning blends I could recognize as reasonably authentic. I wanted proportions which would lend themselves to being multiplied or divided to allow me some flexibility in how much of anything I prepared ‘on spec’.

And then I found 3men.com. These guys have obviously spent a whole lot of time educating themselves about sausage making (as well as barbequeing and a related host of manly meat preparation techniques). So their site is informative, easy to use and full of good instructions and helpful warnings.

My first attempt, using their Italian sausage recipe, came out way too salty. It was still too salty when I added more sausage and more seasonings, except salt. It took fully doubling everything except the salt to get the proportions right. Happily, I took good lab notes while I was working. In general, I ended up using more of every flavoring–except salt, which I halved.

I’m still not set up to grind or stuff my own sausages, but I don’t doubt the time will come when I take on that step as well.

Any of these seasoning  mixtures will work to season a blend of seitan chopped fine and bound with Gimme’ Lean® (or a similar product) at a 3/1 ratio–though I would also add three tablespoons per pound of unrefined peanut oil or XV olive oil to add depth and fat to the product. Oh, and don’t add salt–since the prepared seitan and Gimme’ Lean® are already salty to beat the band.

Italian Sausage Seasoning

1 lb of ground pork (or see above for the vegetarian alternative)

3/4 tsp salt

2 tsp fennel

1 1/2 tsp black pepper

1/2 tsp ground coriander

1/2 tsp (scant) red pepper flakes

1/4 tsp oregano

1/4 tsp garlic powder

1/4 tsp sugar

1/4 tsp caraway seeds, ground

Mix all the seasonings together, then lightly press and turn and press and turn the meat into the seasonings until they’re evenly distributed. This stores in the fridge for three days, or in the freezer–double-wrapped–for two months.

Breakfast Sausage

1 lb of ground pork

3/4 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper, freshly ground

3/4 tsp rubbed sage

1/8 tsp ground ginger

1/2 tsp nutmeg, freshly grated is best here

1/2 tsp thyme

1/4 tsp cayenne–or to taste

Mix the seasonings well together. Lightly press and turn and press and turn the meat into the seasonings until they’re evenly distributed. This stores in the fridge for three days, or in the freezer–double-wrapped–for two months.

I’ll add more posts on this topic as I develop more blends I like well enough to share.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

