Posted by: A Part of the Solution | August 27, 2010

Overnight Buckwheat Pancakes

These are called ‘Grandma’s Buckwheats’ in my mother’s recipe box. I think they were her grandmother’s–but they might be my grandmother’s grandmother’s buckwheats. I’ve altered them slightly to my taste and my pantry staples. But they are without a doubt a very fine overnight buckwheat pancake. And I always make them in the silver dollar size.

I always make the overnight buckwheats in the silver dollar size because they were served that way to me by my mother, my aunt and my grandmother without fail. I suspect my relatives were served silver dollar sized buckwheats all their coming up years as well. I have seen pictures of buckwheats that look to be at least four or five inches across. I have no idea what that’s about. Buckwheats are made with yeast. Buckwheats are naturally vegan (the egg is insurance that they’ll hold together, but not really necessary). Buckwheats are never more than 1 3/4″ across.

I am, however, modern enough not to insist on serving them with sugar syrup from a Steen can–or similar. I’m not didactic enough to insist on their being topped with blackstrap molasses–although it’s a tasty option. I’m not from far enough north to be shocked if the buckwheats are served with anything besides maple syrup. I try to keep some of my mind open, some of the time.

Lately, I’ve been serving them with warm apple topping–and I’ll give the recipe for the topping too. Not that plain old applesauce isn’t absolutely whizz-bang on a stack of warm buckwheats, but this is one of those endless instances of my deciding that any lily worth gilding is worth gilding twice. Besides, the apple topping tastes so very, very good on these buckwheat pancakes.

Overnight Buckwheat Pancakes

2 cups buckwheat flour

1/2 cup all purpose flour

1 tsp salt

1 TBSP yeast

1 TBSP sugar

4 cups warm water, divided

2 TBSP blackstrap molasses

1/2 tsp baking soda

1 egg (optional)

Dissolve the yeast in 1/2 cup of warm water with the sugar, it should ‘bloom’ within five minutes. Whisk the salt into the flours until they are well blended. Add the yeast mixture to the flour mixture along with the rest of the water. Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and leave it overnight on the counter.

In the morning, whisk in the molasses, baking soda and egg (if using). Grease a heavy pan (cast iron is best here) and let it come to full temperature (as in all the way to medium) before you begin spooning in the batter. The cakes will ‘skin’ over with a few air bubbles, and then they’ll be ready to turn. They’re a little tender, so go gently with them.

Apple Topping

1 1/2 cups applesauce

2 TBSP brown sugar

2 TBSP maple syrup

1/4 cup cream or nut milk

2 TBSP butter or margarine

1/2 tsp cinnamon

pinch of salt

1 shot of bourbon or rye (optional, but extra fancy)

Put all the ingredients in a small sauce pan and let it come to a boil. Boil over moderate heat for three minutes up to five minutes.

Leave a Reply

Categories

