Posted by: A Part of the Solution | May 5, 2010

Lunch with the Non-Profits

Representatives from Martha’s Table (Hi Kim & Demitri) and DC Central Kitchen (Hi Jaimie–did I spell it right?– and Joelle) trekked up from the District of Columbia today to visit. We arranged the visit since these are the two non-profits to whom the farm’s CSA will be donating produce shares this season. They wanted to have a look around so that they could assure themselves of our bona fides, familiarize themselves with our organization, and figure out the various ways in which we could maximize our mutually beneficial arrangement. I do love a good non-profit. These two are some of the best.

As luck would have it, I was in the shower when our visitors arrived. Happily, the dog has taken it upon herself to serve as our doorbell. I could hear her even under the running water. A minute later and we were making introductions all around, and then I took everybody out to see the home acres, the workshop and chickens (in another couple of days they’ll be housed in their very lovely permanent coop), the barn and pond, and the field where our orchard will be as well as the field where our vegetables are growing.

I shared with the non-profits about our current limitations (like newness to the region and a paucity of hands to get things done). I spoke about our plans to grow and become the best and most productive we could be over time (housing for interns,  a separate place for the farm manager). I discussed some of the larger agricultural issues affecting the local farmers (mono-cropping for the subsidies, ineffective pesticide products, too many market controls ‘protecting’ food prices). And I answered any questions I was asked to the best of my ability.

I also served a pretty good lunch, if I do say so myself. I opened with the classic salad: Avocado, Arugula and Grapefruit with Poppyseed Dressing (grind 1 1/2 T. poppyseeds, add 1 T. cider vinegar, 1 T. mustard, 2 tsp. honey, 1/2 tsp. each salt and black pepper, beat these well then drizzle in 3 T. canola oil and whisk well as you do so). I followed with a roasted acorn squash soup dressed with a spoonful of roasted red pepper rouille. My third course was mushroom and leek quiche made with Hidden Hills Dairy raw, unpasteurized top milk and Split Rail Run Farm eggs. After such a good meal, we took another walk.

This time, we headed to the Back Back Field. We didn’t have time to hit the marked trail through the woods, but we skirted the edge of the field and caught the tag end of the woods walk. I  got a chance to speak more with Kim about taking volunteers on our work party days. I heard more from Demetri about Martha’s Table serving as a possible pick-up location for our District CSA members. And I listened to ideas from Joelle and Jaimie about providing contract services to their catering kitchen at DC Central Kitchen (the Fresh Start program) All in all it was a tasty, fruitful midday break for me. And, I hope, a good field trip for the representatives from our soup kitchens of choice  down in the Flatlands.

Leave a Reply

Categories

