Posted by: A Part of the Solution | September 8, 2009

In the Beginning

We met on craigslist. We fell in love. We challenged each other to dream of what we really wanted from life.
So now we’re actively farm-hunting. He wants to drive the tractor. I want a commercial kitchen and control over the food I prepare–from the variety planted to the way it’s grown to the means used to harvest it.
We don’t have any farming experience. We don’t have enough money to buy a farm with cash outright (not even by selling both our homes in the affluent suburbs of DC). We probably don’t have what passes for good sense, given our ambitions and the lengths to which we’re prepared to go to get back to the land, off the grid and minimally carbon foot-printed.

Responses

  1. Green acres is the place to be, Farm living is the life for me. Land spreading out, so far and wide. Keep Manhattan, just give me that countryside. New York is where I’d rather stay. I get allergic smelling hay. I just adore a penthouse view. Darling, I love you, but give me Park Avenue.


Leave a Reply

Categories

